Pet Sematary’s Miko Hughes: Where the Heart Is

Published November 21, 2013 by biggayhorrorfan

069
Eclectic actor Miko Hughes grew up in the public eye with roles in such high profile projects as Pet Sematary, Kindergarten Cop, Wes Craven’s New Nightmare, Spawn and Mercury Rising (to name just a few). Weathering the rough road to a career as an adult performer, Hughes has recently (and effectively) essayed roles in such projects as 2006 comedy Surf School and the fright infused Remains. At a con this past summer, celebrating Pet Sematary’s upcoming 25th anniversary, the extremely amiable Hughes took a moment to chat with Big Gay Horror Fan about the loyalty of terror fans and what the future contains for him.

Big Gay Horror Fan: Let’s start things off by talking about some more contemporary terror stuff that you’ve done. What was it like working on Remains?

Miko in Remains

Miko in Remains

Miko Hughes: Remains was fun. It was on Chiller a couple years ago. It seemed to do pretty well. They were a great crew out there. They were really good people. I’ve kind of been working a bit with them lately. It was kind of nice to do some horror, again, when I was a bit older.

BGHF: So, what was the transition like for you, going from child actor to adult performer? There are so many tragedies that occur during that crossover – currently it’s Lindsay Lohan and Amanda Bynes who are always in the news…

Miko: They are so gifted and beautiful, too.

BGHF: Totally!

Miko: It’s such a shame. Yeah, I don’t know what that is. I think it is really difficult to have so much attention, being treated such a different way from such a young age. It’s really difficult to navigate. I am just as susceptible to it. I’ve had my fair share of drama and issues. I like to think I am navigating it as well as possible.

BGHF: (Laughing) Hell, just the day to day life is tough: getting up, brushing your teeth, wiping your ass…let alone with everyone watching you do it!

Miko: (Laughs) Yeah. Everybody’s got a struggle – no matter what the perspective is. But, I like where I am at. I am constantly trying to improve – in whatever the endeavor is – and, yeah, I am happy with the way things are going.

Hughes and Fred Gwynne: Pet Sematary

Hughes and Fred Gwynne: Pet Sematary

BGHF: Good! Is horror something that you are naturally drawn to – or is that just what you are best known for (in certain circles)?

Miko: I enjoy horror. I have always enjoyed filming them. But I enjoy filming, in general. I enjoy working. I have done other movies that weren’t horror that were equally large – but horror has a fan base. Horror has a following. There aren’t conventions for comedy shows – even though everybody loves comedy. So, there is a subculture with this genre – along with Sci Fi and whatever else – and the fans are loyal. It’s nice that I get to come out to these and meet them in person, have a little vacation.

BGHF: I’ve witnessed you receiving a lot of love, here. Is it overwhelming for you?

Miko: It’s surreal. California is so saturated with actors that people don’t think much of it. It seems that the further East you go, it’s more of a novelty. So, there is that larger reaction. It’s kind of fun. I actually enjoy the balance of being able to be by myself, just chill and be anonymous when I am at home. Then, I get to come to these and feel like somebody. It’s nice and I think it is probably a good balance, too. It probably wouldn’t be good for my ego if it happened all the time.

BGHF: Those pitfalls you were talking about earlier?

Miko: Yeah. When people treat you a certain way, it’s almost like they set you up to treat them a certain way. Sometimes, here, it is hard to get people to talk to you as a person. So, I have to be like — “Hey, you don’t need to be nervous. What’s up? What brought you to the con?”

BGHF: And of course, here, people are gravitating toward Pet Semetary. Is there some project you’ve done that you’ve thought was unjustly ignored or didn’t get the attention that is should have?

Miko in New Nightmare

Miko in New Nightmare

Miko: I think, as far as horror goes, New Nightmare was a critical success at the time that it came out. But, for whatever reason, the marketing or what have you; it really didn’t get a lot of play. So, at the time, it wasn’t as recognized. But, as time has passed, the fans really seem to think that it is one of the better ones in the series. (Laughs) At least, I gather that from what I have heard. I may be getting an uneven representation of that because they are coming to talk with me – and probably aren’t going tell me something horrible.

BGHF: (Laughs) Though, I’m sure you’ve heard plenty!

Miko: (Laughs, as well) The funny one I always get is “Oh, you were so cute!” Then, they’ll catch themselves and quickly go “But, you’re still cute, now!” I’m always like, I know what you meant!

BGHF: (Laughing) But, excuse me as I reach for this razor blade and swallow these pills!

Miko: (Laughing along) Yeah, yeah! Because of what you just said…! That was it!

BGHF: So, is there anything going on now that you’d like to talk about?

Miko's directorial debut - Chilling.

Miko’s directorial debut – Chilling.

Miko: Yeah, yeah! I am doing a few small things. I DJ and I do some promoting for some clubs in Los Angeles. It’s slowly growing. And – I have some more acting work potentially on the table that I am looking forward to. There is nothing finalized, but I am hopefully looking forward to that.

BGHF: That’s great. It’s a notoriously tough business.

Miko: Completely! It can break you!

BGHF: So, do you have game plan beyond this? Is there something else you have a passion for?

Miko: You know – I grew up in this, so I feel like it’s all I really know. So, regardless of what it is, I will probably be working in this industry my whole life. It’s where my heart is.

(Most recently, Hughes directed a segment of the horror anthology Chilling Visions: 5 Senses of Fear.)

Hughes and Big Gay Horror Fan!

Hughes and Big Gay Horror Fan!


Until the next time – SWEET love and pink GRUE, Big Gay Horror Fan

http://www.facebook.com/biggayhorrorfan

5 comments on “Pet Sematary’s Miko Hughes: Where the Heart Is

  • Just started watching Wes Craven’s New Nightmare on Netflix tonight, and thought I’d look him up and came across this interview. Its great to see how he’s grown up to be such a cool dude and such a cutie to boot! Hopefully i get to see/hear some of his more recent work. Awesome interview! Thanks for this! now back to New Nightmare 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

